Department for European Affairs

The department is responsible for safeguarding Norway’s interests in European and global cooperation on trade and economic affairs.

It is also responsible for administering and further developing the EEA Agreement, Nordic cooperation, Norway’s agreements with the EU and relations with the EU countries.

The department is headed by Director General Niels Engelschiøn.

The department consists of the following sections

  • European Policy Section

  • Nordic–Baltic Section

  • Section for EEA and Schengen Affairs

    Current EEA matters. Incorporation of EU legislation. Secretariat for the Government’s European policy coordination committee. Justice and home affairs matters including Schengen. The Section for EEA and Schengen Affairs will be the secretariat for the two inter-ministerial liaison committees, on EEA matters and on justice and home affairs, respectively. Relations with the EFTA institutions. The section is responsible for coordinating the Government’s work on Brexit. Country responsibility for Switzerland and Liechtenstein, and for Andorra, Monaco and San Marino. The Unit for EEA Translation Services is organised under the section.

  • Section for Central Europe

  • Section for South East Europe