Oscar Torp's Government

19. November 1951–22. January 1955

Labour Party (A)

Oscar Torp’s Government was appointed by King Haakon VII in a session of the Council of State on 16 November 1951, effective as of 19 November 1951 at 12 noon. It succeded Einar Gerhardsen’s Second Government, because Prime Minister Einar Gerhardsen wanted to leave the office for personal reasons.

In an audience with King Haakon VII on 14 January 1955, Prime Minister Oscar Torp handed in his Government's resignation, as the Labour Party wanted to change prime minister. Permission to leave was granted by King Haakon VII in a session of the Council of State on 21 January 1955, effective as of 22 January 1955 at 12 noon. At the same time, Einar Gerhardsen's Third Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:
Secretary to the Council of State Leif M. Østern

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Oscar Fredrik Torp (A)
Parliamentary basis:
Majority government
Parties in the Government:
Arbeiderpartiet (A)