Trygve Bratteli's First Government

17. March 1971–18. October 1972

Labour Party (A)

Trygve Bratteli’s First Government was appointed by King Olav V in a session of the Council of State on 16 March 1971, effective as of 17 March 1971 at 12 noon. It succeded Per Borten’s Government, due to internal disagreement in this Government on Norway's relations to the European Communities (EC). 

In a session of the Council of State on 7 October 1972, Trygve Bratteli's First Government handed in its resignation, as the Government on 25 September 1972 had lost a referendum on Norway joining the European Communities (EC). Permission to leave was granted by King Olav V in a session of the Council of State on 17 October 1972, effective as of 18 October 1972 at 12 noon. At the same time, Lars Korvald's Government was appointed, effective as of the same point of time.

Secretary to the Council of State in this period:
Director General Finn Midtskaug

About the Government

Prime Minister:
Trygve Bratteli (A)
Parliamentary basis:
Minority government
Appointment reason:
Change after government crisis
Parties in the Government:
Arbeiderpartiet (A)