EU-erklæring i anledning ettårsmarkeringen for annekteringen av Krim

Dette innholdet er mer enn 6 år gammelt. Informasjonen kan derfor være utdatert.

23. mars sluttet Norge seg til EUs erklæring i anledning ettårsmarkeringen for annekteringen av Krim.

European Union

Mars 16.

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on Crimea

One year on from the holding of the illegal and illegitimate "referendum" and the subsequent illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by the Russian Federation, the European Union remains firmly committed to Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity. 

The European Union does not recognise and continues to condemn this act of violation of international law. The illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by the Russian Federation is also a direct challenge to international security, with grave implications for the international legal order that protects the unity and sovereignty of all states.  

The European Union will remain committed to fully implement its non-recognition policy, including through restrictive measures. The EU calls again on UN Member States to consider similar non-recognition measures in line with the UNGA Resolution 68/262.  

The EU reaffirms its deep concern at the continuous military build-up and deterioration of the human rights situation in the Crimean peninsula, including the denial of free speech and the persecution of persons belonging to minorities. The European Union reiterates its call to provide international human rights actors with full, free and unrestricted access to the whole territory of Ukraine, including Crimea and Sevastopol.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*  and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.

* The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.