EU-erklæring om restriktive tiltak mot Sør-Sudan

6. august sluttet Norge seg til EU sin erklæring om restriktive tiltak mot Sør-Sudan.

6 AUGUST 2014

Declaration on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with the Council Decision 2014/449/CFSP concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in South Sudan

On 10 July 2014, the Council adopted Council Decision 2014/449/CFSP1. The Council Decision integrates measures concerning South Sudan which previously formed part of measures against Sudan and South Sudan into a single act. The Decision imposes restrictions on admission and the freezing of funds and economic resources of persons obstructing the political process in South Sudan, including by acts of violence or violations of ceasefire agreements, as well as persons responsible for serious violations of human rights in South Sudan. At the same time, an existing arms embargo against South Sudan remains in place.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland+, Serbia* and Albania*, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Armenia, align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Til toppen