EU-erklæring om Libya

30. desember sluttet Norge seg til EUs erklæring om Libya.


16 DECEMBER 2014

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on Libya

The EU reiterates its strong support for the UN's efforts to bring together key stakeholders in a dialogue on Libya's future. In this regard, it endorsed the efforts of the Special Representative of the UN Secretary General, Bernardino León, to take forward the Ghadames process. There is no alternative to a political solution based on dialogue, respect and trust.

The EU condemns the violence which weighs heavily on the civilian population and undermines the prospects for a peaceful negotiated settlement. The recent military actions of the weekend are of particular concern. The EU calls for restraint on all sides and supports UN calls for a ceasefire so as to give the necessary space for inclusive national dialogue.

The EU welcomes the engagement of those parties who have reacted positively to the UN initiative. The EU is concerned by the negative impact of the situation in Libya on other countries and calls on all those with an interest in the stability of Libya to support constructively the process.

Those who are undermining prospects for a political solution risk tipping Libya fully into civil war. They must face consequences for their actions. The EU's strong commitment to the unity and territorial integrity of Libya and the need to prevent the spread of terrorism, means that it remains ready to consider further actions, including restrictive measures, should circumstances so require. The UN Security Council should also take measures against those obstructing dialogue.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland+, Serbia* and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.

* The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.

Til toppen